THE PHOTOGRAPHER OF THE LOST

THE PHOTOGRAPHER OF THE LOST

SCOTT , CAROLINE

12,50 €
IVA incluido
En stock
Editorial:
SIMON & SCHUSTER LTD.
Año de edición:
2020
Materia
Literatura moderna y contemporánea
ISBN:
978-1-4711-8311-9
Páginas:
492
Encuadernación:
Otros
Colección:
GENERAL FICTION

u003cbu003e**A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK**u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbu003eFor fans of u003ciu003eThe Tattooist ofu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003e u003cbu003eu003ciu003eAuschwitzu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbu003e and u003ciu003e1917u003c/iu003e comes a moving story about how hope and love will prevail against all odds.u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war' u003cbu003eu003ciu003eThe Timesu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e 'A touching novel of love and loss' u003cbu003eu003ciu003eSunday Timesu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbu003e1921u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e In the aftermath of war, everyone is searching for answers.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbu003eEdie'su003c/bu003e husband Francis never came home and was declared 'missing, believed killed'. But when she receives a mysterious photograph of him in the post, hope flares and she begins to search.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbu003eHarryu003c/bu003e photographs gravesites on the Western Front, hired by grieving families. Plagued by memories of his last conversation with Francis, he has never stopped searching for his brother.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e After years apart, their search brings them together. As they uncover the truth they are haunted by the past and their own complex feelings - towards Francis, and towards each other. u003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbu003eAre some questions better left unanswered?u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore, a beautiful novel, inspired by real events in the wake of the First World War, about love and loss, grief and guilt, and the fleeting, fragile moments of life.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003cbu003ePraise for u003ciu003eThe Photographer of the Lostu003c/iu003e:u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'There's only one word for this novel... and that's epic... A beautifully written must-read' u003cbu003eu003ciu003eheatu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' u003cbu003eSarra Manning,u003c/bu003e u003cbu003eu003ciu003eREDu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'Terrific first novel' u003cbu003eu003ciu003eDaily Mailu003c/iu003eu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel' u003ciu003eu003cbu003eGood Housekeepingu003c/bu003eu003c/iu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . . told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters' stories' u003cbu003eRachel Horeu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'What a wonderful debut novel . . . With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn't stop reading' u003cbu003eLorna Cooku003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'A sublimely rendered portrait of the search for answers amidst the chaos and devastation left behind in the aftermath of World War 1' u003cbu003eFiona Valpyu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind' u003cbu003eFanny Blakeu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' u003cbu003eIsabelle Broomu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'Beautiful, unflinching: u003ciu003eThe Photographer of the Lostu003c/iu003e is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included... unforgettable' u003cbu003eIona Greyu003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e 'Momentous, revelatory and astonishing historical fiction!' u003cbu003eHistorical Novel Societyu003c/bu003e

Artículos relacionados

  • MELANCOHOLEMIA. VIDA DE MAMARRACHO (CASTELLANO)
    REIXA, ANTON
    En la frontera de la cordura y la alienación, de la diferencia radical entre la realidad y la percepción de lo real, de la perplejidad como actitud vital frente al sedante del conformismo surge «Melancoholemia. Vida de Mamarracho». El protagonista de este sorprendente y descarnado relato es el anfitrión en la jornada de puertas abiertas de una institución de salud mental que, d...
    En stock

    14,00 €

  • CUANDO NO ESPERAS NADA SUCEDE TODO
    MONTALVO, MANUEL
    He aprendido a ser paciente. A que las expectativas no condicionen mi futuro. Y que, a veces, cuando no esperas nada, sucede todo.He conseguido amar por encima de cualquier cosa. Pero queriendo tanto el corazón se vuelve más frágil. Y las cicatrices que deja el amor no dejan de doler jamás.Esta es mi vida. La historia de alguien que tuvo que perderse en la oscuridad para encont...
    En stock

    20,90 €

  • TERCER POLICIA, EL & EN NADAR-DOS-PAJAROS
    OBRIEN, FLANN
    Dos de las obras más importantes de la narrativa europea del siglo XX ahora juntas en un solo volumen. Harold Bloom las incluyó en El canon occidental y su estructura narrativa y su humor han cautivado a lectores de todas las generaciones. Como señala Patricio Pron en el prólogo de esta edición: «Sus libros abren una puerta a una rebelión hilarante, el tipo de respuesta al pod...
    En stock

    23,95 €

  • LO QUE JODE ENCONTRARTE UN CALCETÍN DESPAREJADO
    ABAD, NANDO
    UNA NOVELA LIGERA DE HUMOR ROTUNDO.Andrés te aconsejaría que fueras prudente. Te diría que un libro es un objeto mucho más peligroso de lo que parece.Si pasas las hojas demasiado rápido y una de ellas roza la yema de tu dedo, podría provocarte un pequeño corte. No parece muy grave, pero una infección de la herida, nunca descartable, podría derivar incluso en una amputación del ...
    En stock

    17,90 €

  • SIGO RIOS
    ALCANTUD, PACO
    Una pandemia ha obligado a los restos de la humanidad superviviente a hacinarse cerca de los ríos. En medio de este rígido entorno de estrictas reglas, se enlazan historias de la dura lucha por sobrevivir de los habitantes de Ciudad del Río, huidas desesperadas para evitar una muerte segura y científicos embarcados en la búsqueda a contrarreloj de una solución que les asegure e...
    En stock

    20,95 €

  • LA ILUSIÓN DE LOS MAM­FEROS (MAPA DE LAS LENGUAS)
    LÓPEZ, JULIÁN
    Una pareja de varones se encuentra cada domingo. La familia, los hijos, la complejidad del amor desde la perspectiva de uno de los amantes. Apasionado, dulce, ambiguo, doloroso, el encuentro entre dos varones se repite domingo a domingo en un pequeño departamento. Desde allí se asoman al balcón frente al que se despliega el horizonte majestuoso de árboles y edificios de una B...
    En stock

    16,90 €